U.S. announces 2013 World Team Trophy entries

Wagner, Gold to compete in ladies again; Aaron, Abbott make up men's contingent

Three-time U.S. champion Jeremy Abbott will return to Tokyo for the World Team Trophy.
Three-time U.S. champion Jeremy Abbott will return to Tokyo for the World Team Trophy. (Getty Images)


Related Content Top Headlines
By U.S. Figure Skating
(03/20/2013) - U.S. Figure Skating announced Wednesday its entries for the 2013 World Team Trophy, scheduled for April 11-14, in Tokyo.


Gracie Gold
Ashley Wagner


Max Aaron
Jeremy Abbott


Marissa Castelli and Simon Shnapir


Madison Chock and Evan Bates

Meryl Davis and Charlie White have elected not to compete at World Team Trophy so they may focus on their training for the upcoming Olympic season.

The World Team Trophy features the six best figure skating teams of the 2012-13 season, including Canada, China, France, Japan, Russia and the United States. Each team consists of two ladies, two men, one pair and one ice dancing couple. Each skater will receive points based on their placements in the short program/dance and free skate/dance. The points will be added together across the four disciplines and the highest point total will win.

U.S. skaters qualified based on results of the 2013 World Championships and World Junior Figure Skating Championships, the Grand Prix and Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series and Final, the Four Continents Figure Skating Championships and the ISU World Rankings. Teams will compete for a total of $1 million USD in prize money.

Team USA won the inaugural World Team Trophy in 2009 and earned silver last year. A modified version of World Team Trophy has been added to the schedule for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.