Press Release

Lake Placid, N.Y., chosen to host 2009 Skate America

Event returns to Lake Placid to celebrate 30-year anniversary

Johnny Weir, the 2008 world bronze medalist, took home silver at 2008 Skate America.
Johnny Weir, the 2008 world bronze medalist, took home silver at 2008 Skate America. (Getty Images)


Press Releases
(01/23/2009) - U.S. Figure Skating announced today the selection of Lake Placid, N.Y., as the host city for 2009 Skate America. The international figure skating event is one of six stops on the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series. Competition will take place Nov. 12-15, 2009, at the 1980 Arena.

The inaugural Skate America, which was originally named Norton Skate, was held in 1979 in Lake Placid. This marks the sixth time the state of New York has hosted the event, and the fourth time it has been held in Lake Placid (1979, '81, '82). The competition, which historically is the first in the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series, occurs later, as the fifth event of six, in 2009.

"We're delighted to return to Lake Placid," U.S. Figure Skating President Ron Hershberger said. "This community has a rich history of figure skating, and it seems quite appropriate that we would be celebrating the 30th anniversary of Skate America in the place where it all began."

Other stops on the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series each year include Skate Canada, the Cup of China, Trophée Eric Bompard (France), the Cup of Russia and the NHK Trophy (Japan). The Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final takes place each December and rotates among various ISU member countries that host the ISU Grand Prix Series events.

Skate America is an Olympic-style international figure skating event featuring three days of competition in ladies and men's singles, pairs and ice dancing. The event attracts dozens of world-class figure skaters from all over the globe. Past champions include five-time world and nine-time U.S. champion Michelle Kwan, 2002 Olympic bronze medalist Timothy Goebel, 2002 Olympic pairs champions Jamie Salé and David Pelletier of Canada, 1992 Olympic champion Kristi Yamaguchi and 1984 Olympic champion Scott Hamilton.

Skate America 2008 was held at the Everett Events Center in Everett, Wash., where U.S. skaters won medals in all four disciplines and four of the 12 total medals. Johnny Weir, the 2008 world bronze medalist, won the men's silver, while reigning U.S. champion Evan Lysacek took the men's bronze. Reigning U.S. pairs champions Keauna McLaughlin and Rockne Brubaker garnered the silver in pairs, and five-time U.S. champions Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto won ice dancing silver.

The ISU also recently announced that Lake Placid will host an event in the 2009 ISU Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series. The event will be the second of seven in the series and take place Sept. 2-6, 2009.

Tickets for 2009 Skate America go on sale Saturday, Jan. 24, and can be purchased by calling 518.523.3330 or visiting

U.S. Figure Skating is the national governing body for the sport of figure skating in the United States as recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the International Skating Union. U.S. Figure Skating is comprised of more than 763 member clubs and Basic Skills Programs representing approximately 179,000 members. U.S. Figure Skating is charged with the development of the sport on all levels within the United States including athletes, officials, sanctioning of events and exhibitions, and establishing the rules and guidelines by which the sport is governed.