Ice Network

Olympic champions Davis, White to skip worlds

Four Continents bronze medalists Aldridge, Eaton will compete instead
  • Ice Network on Facebook
  • Ice Network on Twitter
Meryl Davis and Charlie White are happy to end their season with Olympic gold. -Getty Images

Olympic champions Meryl Davis and Charlie White announced Monday they will not compete at the 2014 World Figure Skating Championships, March 24-30, in Saitama, Japan. Davis and White, the reigning world champions, became the first American ice dance team to earn an Olympic gold medal last month in Sochi, Russia.

"Now that we've had some time at home to discuss our plan for the rest of the season, we've decided not to compete in the 2014 World Championships," Davis said. "We're extremely pleased to have capped off this Olympic cycle with our performances at the Olympic Games."

Davis and White also earned a bronze medal in Sochi in the inaugural Olympic team event. They are three-time Olympic medalists after also winning silver at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver.

"We feel that our incredibly positive Olympic experience is the culmination of and perfect ending to a wonderful four-year cycle," White said. "We will leave our options open for the future and are excited to cheer on our American teammates as they compete in Japan."

Alexandra Aldridge and Daniel Eaton, the second alternates for the world team, will represent Team USA at the world championships. The first-year senior competitors won bronze at the 2014 Four Continents Championships and finished fifth at the 2014 U.S. Championships.

Madison Hubbell and Zachary Donohue, who are the 2014 Four Continents champions, were the first alternates for the world team. They will not compete due to a torn labrum in Hubbell's left hip. She is expected to have it surgically repaired this week.

Olympic silver medalists Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir of Canada will also not compete at worlds.

2014 U.S. world figure skating team:


Polina Edmunds
Gracie Gold
Ashley Wagner


Max Aaron
Jeremy Abbott


Marissa Castelli and Simon Shnapir
Caydee Denney and John Coughlin

Ice dance:

Alexandra Aldridge and Daniel Eaton
Madison Chock and Evan Bates
Maia Shibutani and Alex Shibutani